National Exec















Obed Bapela
Siyabonga C Cwele
Ayanda Dlodlo
Pravin Gordhan
Pule Mabe
Fikile (Slovo) Majola
Billy Lesedi Masetlha
Nomvula Paula Mokonyane
Aaron Motsoaledi
Joel Netshitenzhe

Nozabelo Ruth Bhengu
Rob Davies
Beauty N. Dlulane
Derek Hanekom
Sisi Mabe
Nomzamo Winfred (Winnie) Mandela
Joyce Mashamba
Pinky Mokoto
Sankie Dolly Mthembi-Mahanyele
Maite Nkoana-Mashabane

Lynne Brown
Thoko Didiza
Ebrahim Ebrahim
Tina Joemat-Petterson
Rejoice Mabhudafhasi
Jane Manganye
Sam Mashinini
Ednah Molewa
Jackson Mthembu
Gugile Nkwinti

Zoleka Rosemary Capa-Langa
Nkosazana Clarice Dlamini-Zuma
Lungi Gcabashe
Zweledinga Pallo Jordan
Nocawe Mafu
Kebby Maphatsoe
Tito Mboweni
Joyce C Moloi- Moropa
Nathi Mthethwa
Sefora Hixsonia (Sisi) Ntombela

Bhekokwakhe (Bheki) Cele
Olive Dlamini Bathabile
Malusi Gigaba
Zizi Kodwa
Dikeledi Magadzi
Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula
Nomaindia Mfeketo
Pinky Moloi
Thenjiwe Mtintso
Nosipho Dorothy Ntwanambi

Collins Chabane
Sidumo Mbongeni Dlamini
Enoch Godongwana
Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba
David Mahlobo
Philly Mapulane
Humphrey M Z Mmemezi
Angie Motshekga
Joel Sibusiso Ndebele
Thulas Nxesi


John Block
Hope Papo
Zamani Saul

Phumulo Masualle
Stan Mathabatha
Natso Khumalo

Oscar Mabuyane
Sihle Zikalala
Sandi Sejake

David Mabuza
Lucky Ndinisa
Makgwe Ntate

Paul Mashatile
Dakota Legoete
Marius Fransman

Supra Mahumapelo
Knox Seabi
Mjongile Songezo


The National Executive Committee is the highest organ of the ANC between National Conferences and has the authority to lead the organisation, subject to the provisions of this Constitution. Without prejudice to the generality of its powers, the NEC shall:

Carry out the decisions and instructions of the National Conference and the National General Council.

Issue and send directives and in-structions to and receive reports from the provinces.

Supervise and direct the work of the ANC and all its organs, including national, provincial and local government caucuses.

Ensure that the provincial, regional and branch structures of the ANC function democratically and effectively. The NEC may suspend or dissolve a PEC where necessary. A suspension of a PEC shall not exceed a period of three months. Elections for a PEC, which has been dissolved, shall be called within nine months from dissolution. The National Executive Committee may appoint an interim structure during the period of suspension or the dissolution of the PEC to fulfill the functions of the PEC.

Oversee the work of the Veterans League, Women’s League and the Youth League. Establish departments and set up committees, as it considers appropriate.

Manage and control all the national and international property and assets of the ANC. Receive reports, supervise the work of, and delegate such functions to the NWC, as it considers necessary. Issue documents and other policy directives as and when it deems fit.

Confer such honors, as it may deem appropriate.
Appoint annually a National List Committee of not fewer than five and not more than nine persons for the selection and adoption of candidates for the national Parliament. The NEC shall draw up regulations for the procedures to be followed in such a selection. The National List Committee shall report to the NEC prior to the implementation of its recommendations. Provincial structures for the adoption of candidates shall report to the National List Committee.

The NEC may convene a Policy Conference, as a recommendation-making body on any matter of policy, whenever it deems necessary, but the NEC must convene a National Policy Conference at least six (6) months before the National Conference to review policies of the ANC and to recommend any new or to amend any present policy for consideration by the National Conference.


The National Executive Committee, as a whole, shall not consist of less than fifty percent (50%) of women. The NEC, except where otherwise stipulated, shall be elected by secret ballot by the National Conference and shall hold office for five years and shall be constituted as follows:
The President, Deputy President, National Chairperson, the Secretary General, Deputy Secretary General and the Treasurer General who will be elected separately by the National Conference. Eighty (80) additional members of the NEC.

The Chairperson and the Secretary of each elected ANC Provincial Executive Committee who shall be ex-officio members of the NEC.
The President and Secretary General of the ANC Youth League who shall be ex-officio members of the NEC.

The President and Secretary General of the ANC Veterans League who shall be ex-officio members of the NEC.

The NEC may co-opt not more than five (5) additional members at any time during its term of office in order to provide for a balanced representation that reflects the true character of the South African people.

Should a vacancy occur on the NEC for any reason, the NEC shall have the power to fill the vacancy by appointing a replacement. The quorum for meetings of the NEC shall be 50%+1 of its total membership.

A person must be a paid-up member of the ANC for at least five years before she or he can be nominated to the National Executive Committee of the ANC.

The current National Executive Committee displayed above is as elected at the 53rd National Conference in Mangaung December 2012.